Hi, I'm Chris.

Mic check, 1…2… Is this thing on?

Okay, so here’s the deal. I’ve been putting this off for way too long. My life feels so fractured these days. I never really know where the day will take me. Do you ever feel completely lost? Yeah… me too.

But hey, that’s why we have mall kiosks and little red dots to comfort us and tell us exactly where we are… and how far we must traverse to reach the Gap or the food court.

For me, life has been this crazy twist of events that are beyond all measure of comprehension. Where I started, where I have been, what I am, what I am not, what I get to do, where I am, and to God knows where I am going - this life feels akin to a Jackson Pollock painting. To be direct, I don’t understand it at all. And the older I find myself the more I find I am sure that I know much less than I ever really thought I knew.

Hi… I’m Chris. We might have met somewhere along the way. Or perhaps we’ve known each other for some time now. Or… better yet, we have yet to meet, and you found this blog/newsletter/journal (whatever it is) randomly or on the TCG website or in some other random way, IDK! Either way, it matters not. I am so very happy you are here. Welcome to my… whatever this is. I hope you enjoy these thoughts For Your Self-Examination. Take what you like, leave the rest.

Radical Transparency

I am here, writing this for one very selfish reason. Transparency. I want you to know me, and I want to share what I know (which is very little). Okay, that looks like two reasons in hindsight. (deep breath) Here we go.

A few things about me: I am a writer pretending to be a therapist, I hate spiders, I love good whisky, I am dyslexic, and I failed spelling throughout elementary school many… many times. I earned my PhD at 31 just a few months short of Soren Kirkegaard, my personal hero. I run one of the largest mental health practices in Texas (Taylor Counseling Group) along with a mental health app, Empifany. I serve on several state boards and non-profit boards all aligned with my mission to advance mental health care in Texas. I struggle with many things. I struggle with friendships, sadness, hope, despair, faith, weight, and ego. Of all the things I suffer, purpose has never been one of them. I know my purpose; to help others find their way. What’s yours?

I’d love to learn more about you so please feel free to share your thoughts with me as you like. Now, let’s get this party started! The first thought I’d like to share with you is a short story I wrote. Don’t worry it’s not long. I hope you like it.

A Palace for Hope and Joy

A great palace stood shining bright above the wreck of life. And in this sacred house lived both Hope and Joy. Sisters who lived charmed and beautiful lives in a perfect place free from sorrow. Now, their father lived in the house as well and had grown cold and bitter with age. But even in the fleeting light of his decaying life, he had Hope and Joy. And so the man would hold his daughters tight and take their warmth for his own.

One morning the daughters came to their father and asked to leave the palace to see the world. As they have now come of age and have found a strong desire to connect with life around them and share their gifts with those in need.

The father, in his rage, fueled by jealousy and fear forbade them from leaving and locked all the doors in the palace. Both Hope and Joy wept. It was in the cold darkness of the night that the daughters felt their warmth dissipate for the first time.

The girls, pleading with their father to let them go, grew twisted and dark over the years. Finally, in the twilight of their lives, both Hope and Joy took ill with despair and suffered this sickness unto death.

The man, Ego, was now left alone in the darkness. His anger, jealousy, and need for control had killed the only two things he had ever loved. Cold and alone Ego lives in a palace amongst the wreck.

Okay… okay… that was a lot. Let’s be real. I am here to shred my ego. Fitness isn’t my thing, I don’t want a set of six-pack abs. I want a six-pack soul. I want nothing left of my ego but what is absolutely necessary. And, if you would like, I hope you will join me on the journey.

So, what do you think of my story?

Weekly Updates

My plan is to take this slow with weekly newsletter updates along with a podcast episode. Each will focus on the same topics/ideas so you can read or listen. I’ll keep it short (rather, I will at least try to keep it short). If you like it, I’ll keep going. If not, that’s okay too, it’s your life after all. So, take what you like, leave the rest. Share or unsubscribe.

I hope you enjoy these thoughts for your self-examination. See you next week.

-CT

P.S. Check out the podcast if you like to listen!

Reply

or to participate.